The Slogan Never Changes

“I’ll keep it short and sweet — Family. Religion. Friendship. These are the three demons you must slay if you wish to succeed in business.”

~Mr. Burns

For three years now, one of my personal mottos is “It doesn’t have to be a dog-eat-dog world.” In my short post-BA stint between the gown and now, I’ve seen a lot of negative reactions to success; primarily other people reacting to someone else’s success, and it always greatly concerned me. I’ve always firmly believed that one should gain success and prestige through one’s own merits, and through support from others if it’s available to them. What does it gain a person if their goal in getting to the top of the life-latter is by dumping everyone off of it and removing the bottom run each time. It doesn’t make the success any greater, it just makes the latter shorter. Or at least, that’s how I view it.

Ebenezer Scrooge learned that very lesson in business after he was frightened into it by some ghosts and hauntings of how his behavior effected everyone else around him in most horrific ways. I tend to believe that every well person, no matter how “business-like” he or she comes across, has some kind of compassion inside of them for something, be it children, or flowers, or death, or poverty, or employees, or… there’s always something that makes a hard heart go goo. That’s really my point. It’s always better to focus and be compassionate about life than to lose focus of your goals and forget what makes you goo.

I’ve had four full time jobs post-baccalaureate, each had a completely different lesson learned from it, and I’m still continually learning from the fourth one. In two of those jobs, I’ve been able to glean great and successful ways in how I want to run my business, once it gets fully up and running. The other two jobs have taught me more about what I don’t want to do, and has helped me distinguish what I feel is so important in running a successful business; compassion for those involved.
I know all of these ideas that I’ve picked up along the years, such as “That’s something I’m (not) going to do when I have my own business” is the same vague prediction as a 12 year old girl’s already-planned wedding, but I hope that I’m able to fully exercise what I’ve learned in order to make the best experience possible for my business, my employees, and my consumers.

It doesn’t have to be a dog-eat-dog world, whether in the world or in the workplace. If you’ve got your stuff together, and you get support and focus on your own business, there’s plenty to work on there without having to bust anyone else down.
There’s too much building up to worry about tearing down, and quite frankly, I think there’s more success to be had in the building up feature. It gets you closer to the goal, and keeps you happier. Really, it’s a win-win.

One thought on “The Slogan Never Changes

  1. Pingback: Runescape Money Blog

Leave a Reply

