The American Dream

“You don’t like your job, you don’t strike. You go in every day and do it really half-assed. That’s the American way.”

~Homer Simpson

It’s been months and months and perhaps even half a year since I last posted in this thing! I can explain that! WORK!! Having a full-time job while running a business has been one of my greatest challenges in my entire adult life. It’s been a difficult journey between keeping clients happy while not violating ethics at work and coding there. Occasionally, I am allowed the freedom to do something on an emergency basis, but any substantial pieces of code would have technically belonged to my full-time job rather than my clients, and I wanted to avoid that as much as possible.

I am now in week two of my last two weeks as a employee– hopefully forever! Yup! In my months of silence on this blog, I’ve figured out how to do quite a bit of the tasks I was looking for and should be getting my LLC papers in the mail today or tomorrow. I now am CEO of Prestige Interactive Network, LLC. We also have a CFO as well; my partner, Heather Shirk, has stepped up to the plate. All these fancy titles, and I honestly don’t really even know what they mean. I’ll just continue to do what I normally do, except all of the paperwork and money issues, which now Heather will take care of.

So, the last two weeks of working at any job is always either going to be SUPER busy, or not at all. It seems the last two weeks at my current job has been the latter. I can’t start any major projects since all of them will likely take a week or two. So, I’m just given light tasks. It’s driving my overly-active mind crazy because I’m the type of person that usually has to be doing 12 things at once. I think I am one impairment away from being ADHD– my mind needs to be THAT active.

So, starting Tuesday, November 21st, I will be full time into Prestige. I’ve got so many fun projects coming up to work on that I can’t wait for that date to come to be able to just dedicate myself to those projects. I’ve got SO much left to learn about running a business with the legalities and taxes, etc. But it’ll come!

And so, thus starts out my regular weekly (or so) blog about running a business. I’ve decided that this is just going to be where I’ll talk about either business concepts that I’m learning, projects I’m working on and releases, coding issues I’m trying to overcome or have found a fix for, and sometimes there might be a bit of business philosophy mixed into the bag as well.

I still like to think of Prestige as one of the more unique and beneficial companies. We’re objective-based, rather than time-based, meaning there are no set hours to work, just set objectives to meet. Many employees can’t deal with that at first. I know I couldn’t. But once you get used to it, it’s fantastic.

Well! Time to get to my full-time; another five business days left there!

4 thoughts on “The American Dream

  1. I’m very happy for you Tabby (and Heather as well) and so incredibly proud of you. I would wish you luck, but with your brains and talent, you don’t need it. 🙂 You are a true inspiration.

  2. This is fantastic news. Congratulations (to you and Heather).
    I hope you’ll achieve your professional aspirations and that your business will be very successful and give you joy, fulfilment and financial security.

Leave a Reply

