Small accomplishments

“The supreme accomplishment is to blur the line between work and play. “ ~Arnold Toynbee

Ahh, it’s 1:45 in the morning, and I have just finished setting up the first computer in my new office network. I spent several minutes trying to think of the most important element to any office… the computer naming scheme, and I have come up with what I think is pretty clever and can easily expand as the business grows; a “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” theme. I’m giving all of the servers and computers names from characters or places from the tvshow. We have “Willow” for my macbook, and I’ll wait to name my other computer until Heather picks a name for hers tomorrow.

Note to Heather: VERY IMPORTANT TASK!

Aside from the office network, it’s now 1:49 in the morning, and I’m listening to the bittersweet lyrics of Vienna Teng. I’ve decided to write my own WordPress plugin to accomplish a task one of my clients wants for her site. Why not? I need to contribute more to the online world, so this will be a great start for me. This plugin will be very useful for teachers or professors wanting to work with students, allowing them to pass different things to each other using the blog. I’m very excited and am hoping to get version .01 done this weekend.

I’m still swimming in business plans and financing information, but I know I’ll have more time next week to finalize everything. So far, the transition is going smoothly, save the impending removal of the regular salary. I’ve got a lot of support from everyone around me, so I have no doubt I’ll succeed… Even if it means some long long hours and many meetings.

I don’t think I have very many readers on this blog yet, but for those that are keeping track, I have a question for you to think about. Much of my journey to this point has been a lot of observance with regards to what is “good” business practice and what is “bad” business practice. I’ve got a lot of ideas, but I always welcome more. I figured I’d open this entry up to discussion with regards to “good” and “bad” practices. Try to think of things that happened in your company that you wish could have gone differently, or that would have made things so much more efficient. Think of those times where you may have perceived some malevolence in a co-worker or in upper management, and how that could have been dealt with differently.

I know one of my biggest weaknesses is attributing malevolent intentions to people, which is very strange because I believe that ultimately all my projections are a sign of something within myself… and I don’t really see myself as a particularly malevolent person. I’ll have to explore that a bit.

It’s now exactly 2:00am, and my favorite Zero 7 song of ALL TIME is on, so that’s a good sign that I should try to switch my brain off and get some Zzzs. I want to be nice and happy and fresh for my last day of being an employee!

Love you peoples!

PS. Read up on Tornybee. One of the things I like about him is that he thought just slightly outside the box, and I can relate to that! What can I say? It’s one of my strengths, depending on who’s point of view we’re looking through!

3 thoughts on “Small accomplishments

  1. Good business practice, and bad business practice… hmmmm…

    Well in working in a big organization which i’m sure you have, i find that people don’t necessarily recognize the potential of their employees. I mean, they hire you cause you’re good, but they put you to do a job that only taps 3% of your potential (maybe you can sense the bitterness here 😉 )

    I think that a good business practice would be to try and achieve a balance where you value your employees, and allow them to feel like they are stakeholders in the success of the company. In doing so, I think your employees would produce a quality that surpasses your expectations, and in turn the company will succeed.

    I mean, a company is only as good as its employees…

    Jesh

  2. I believe that communicating and being honest with the people working for and with you is very important but maybe not always easy. Issues about attitude, work, ideas, … no matter what it is…listen to them if they come to you, say what’s on your mind so that there are no misunderstandings. Also, they will feel you’re upfront and trustworthy.

    I think it’s important to be yourself, to stay true to yourself.

    Lydia

  3. I’m impressed. You’ve thought things through and you know what you want.
    You’re talented, you’ve got the spirit and tenacious drive so you’re destined to be successful. 🙂

    I appreciate your entries. It’s interesting to read how your business is evolving and it’s nice to know how you’re doing.
    Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    Have a great Sunday.

    Lydia

Leave a Reply

