An heart condition

I have this condition. It’s rather serious and somewhat life-altering at times. Although the condition often rears its head, I don’t struggle from it often, really. Sometimes I feel pain, but most of the time I live my life as most normal people do, as I have adjusted to the condition to my heart.

The condition is called “ilovepeopleitis”. Yes, that’s what its called. I love people. It’s true.  I have a lot of hope in mankind, and trust that people are good and will do good things and make good things and say good things and drink mead and be merry.

I walk down the street and catch the eye of a little child, playing, oblivious to the larger world surrounding him and I feel a sense of warmth and happiness. It’s almost as if I draw energy from the sight.

I sit at an aiport, eavesdropping on a group of elderly people discussing the changing times and the future of air travel, and I smile, and hug myself. I draw a bit more energy from their rapid tennis game of conversation.

I pass by a mother, towing her child, shopping for wonderful treats and having a hard time saying no to the less healthy of the selections and I chuckle and shake my head. Another parent suckered by their one true love; Another boost.

All day long I think about people. I think about how our world wouldn’t exist in the same way without them. I think about how we wouldn’t progress without them. And I remind myself that that is what my cause is… to help continue the progression of people; to keep the world in balance of its natural order. I remind myself that I am part of that collective noun called “people” and I am part of the progression and play a part in the way the world exists.

My condition overtakes me at times. It guides me and leads nearly every aspect of my life. It is within me and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

2 thoughts on “An heart condition

  1. I have Ilovepeopleitis toooo!…I knew there were others out there!

    I believe that people are our greatest teachers…we get to experience all kinds of people and situations in life in order to figure who we are and who we are not…without these teachers how would we know…one cant know what is beautiful until they experience what is ugly…and yet what is beautiful to one person may be ugly to another.

    Cause how do you know love if you haven’t experienced hate?

    So my condition of Ilovepeoplitis is my greatest gift…I love the good the bad and the ugly in all I see and say thank people for allowing me to experience what I am, and what I am not!

    XOX
    Kendra

  2. It’s a wonderful cause you’ve set yourself. And, you’re so right.

    For a long time, I’ve been afraid of people. I just felt comfortable around my family and friends. And, even then, I wasn’t able or I didn’t let myself to be ‘me’.
    I realized that my attitude wasn’t good. You can learn so much from other people. Experiences help make who you are, whether they are good or bad. They’re lessons learned.
    I decided to step out of my comfort zone. It hasn’t been easy but I’m happy I’m opening up to other people. It’s enriching.

    Tabby,
    be yourself at all times, and keep doing all the things you do and love to do. I believe that your zest for life and Ilovepeopleitis is contagious and make you endearing to everyone who gets the opportunity to meet you.

    Lydia

Leave a Reply

