God Bless Us… Everyone!

It was the best of times, it was the worst of times; it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness; it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity; it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness; it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair; we had everything before us, we had nothing before us; we were all going directly to Heaven, we were all going the other way.

This year has felt like the opening of Charles Dickens’ “A Tale of Two Cities” as my life seemed to reflect the best and the worst of everything. Though I can’t really say “worst” because that would be an exaggeration, but this being the year when I finally began to feel the effects of the market crashing, it’s been a bit farther from the best than I would hope for.

But when it was the best of times… let me tell you! It was amazing! Lots of work coming in, plenty of friendships and relating, lots of love and kindness, and even cable tv! January started out strong for me and mine. A portion of my time was spent with my mother and extended family in Texas, introducing them to my girlfriend, Helena. I hopped on board as a community director with one of the organizations I am a part of  and what an amazing and incredible ride that has been. I started out working with the community members and ended this year planning and coordinating events.

Helena and Kynlei

February and March were pretty much just “winter” for me as I worked and hibernated and getting pretty skilled at cleaning snow off of my car on a regular basis.

In April, we moved into our very own apartment with a lake view and I established my latest company, “Essence Interactive, Inc” as a corporation.

In mid-May, I went to a speech on Compassion in Difficult Times, given by His Holiness the Dalai Lama. What an amazing experience that was! I’ve spent a bit of time, in the past, with a monk who, in my opinion, oozes compassion and love… a great aspiration of mine, so it was amazing to experience this theme with HHDL.

June flipped around the corner pretty quickly and I found myself suddenly turning 30! What an interesting concept it was to think about… having been around for 30 years.

Tulip Festival

I pondered how much I haven’t accomplished that I had planned out when I was 12 and how much I have or gone beyond, and how much I never dreamed would have happened. Great a drastic difference between 12 and now.

July and August slipped by as I worked on a big project that took a majority of my time. Still waiting on that last week worth of pay, though. I spent a few days up in the mountains at a retreat, learning so much about myself and the people I work with on a regular basis. It was a beautiful experience that helped me shape more firmly where I want to go in my life and how I want to get there. Not only did all of that happen but that is also when I became good friends with the McMorris Family. Briana, Matt, and Avery! This is a family who I interact with on a daily basis and uphold me and my values at every turn. Beautiful People!

My latest nephew also entered the world this year during the summer. I haven’t met him yet but the pictures will do for now.

Baby Tucker! Welcome to Earth! 🙂

Autumn introduced itself quite beautifully as all of the leaves began to take on a brilliant hue my apartment building became a colorful orange and red scarf wrapped around the building. I also got really into the television show “Bones” and watched as much of it as I could. In October, I planned a big Halloween Party, complete with a DJ, 45 dollars worth of dry ice (which we ended up not being able to use because the sprinkler system hadn’t been tested against them yet) and a room full of black lights. It was a blast and in the end, I really discovered a joy for event planning.

Topsy Turkey

Helena cooked the turkey this year for Thanksgiving. It was her first time. It was also upside down, which isn’t too terrible of a mistake to make for the first time you cook a turkey. At least she took the insides out (at my suggestion) and used her dad’s amazing recipe to flavor it up. Her family came over and we all either played or watched Super Mario Bros Wii and ate Doritos before the lovely dinner. Fun times!

And now, Christmas has finally rolled around and my friend, Ginger, gave Helena and I the gift of spending the Holy Holiday in NYC, on Manhattan. What an absolutely amazing idea it is to spend the holiday season in the city that never sleeps. So much to see and do and a cozy king size bed to snuggle in before St. Nick arrives.

Tabby and Ginger on the Subway

Finally, I will close out this year just as I opened it with my mom flying up to go to Time Square for New Years Eve and spend some time in my neck of the woods.

What a beautiful and challenging year! Here’s to raising the bar. God Bless Us… Everyone!

So here’s what I’m currently up to:

  • Essence Expressions: While we’re still on the DL in terms of what’s actually going on behind the scenes for this site, we’d like you to sign up now so we can email you the secret surprises to come!
  • Coming Out Support: Coming out of the closet? Scared? Come read the inspirational stories on this site and post your own. Share it with your friends. You never know who it will inspire.
  • Issimo: Just launching the third version in the next few days. Good little shop if you are a man looking for organic and natural facial products.
  • A Gift Basket Occasion: Need a gift for a friend? Co-worker? Boss? Office Manager? Mother-in-law? Check this site out!
Leave a Reply

