Reason to get up in the morning…

Oh my god. This weekend I had one of those absolutely amazing, beautiful, wonderful inspiring days; one of those days where I become a gushy crazy woman. I went to the IRONMAN race in Lake Placid to watch my friend go through the race. She’d been training for as long as I can remember and was so excited… how could I not go and support her through the 14 hours she was there? Okay, so I was actually only there for about 11 of those hours, but! Not that point.

Every time I was around the athletes, I couldn’t help but feel totally totally inspired about life in general. I mean, over 2 miles of swimming, 112 miles of biking, and 26 miles of running? CRAZY! I found myself tearing at the beauty of humanity every so often. Pushing your limits and going and going… it’s absolutely cool and admirable.

With Lake Placid being 3 hours away, Helena and I didn’t roll into bed until almost 2am and this morning. When my alarm went off, I was having a hard time getting out of bed, but… remembering how hard those athletes worked, and trying that endurance and persistence state on, I got myself up and out the door in no-time. On a similar note, last week I decided that I wanted to build up a love for exercise by starting really small… I’m walking to the end of my block and back before I allow myself to get into the car for the first time in the morning (for the most part). Today’s five-minute walk seemed so pale, but I put my all into it and it felt great!

Leave a Reply

