How to get me to watch Miss America Pageant

The last time I watched Miss America Pageant, I was just waiting for the Wizard of Oz to come on the television. The time before that was during Miss Congeniality. Give me the promise of a hot brunnette and I will probably show up.

Okay that’s not true. There are lots of hot brunnette’s on that show.

You know what just might get me to tune in this year?

Not Sandra Bullock. Okay well maybe she’d work again if she were hosting it or something.

Pride. Cool, right?

So the contestant from New York (WooHoo!) has decided to do something different than before. She’s decided to openly SUPPORT gay rights as her platform. In the past, I’ve heard of a lot of stories of contestants who engaged in homosexual activity and were stripped or threatened to be stripped of the crown. Well, why not go in head-first as a supporter.

One of the things that I liked was when she said, “And so that’s what I’m trying to bring to the Miss America organization is this platform that is not seen as controversy, but instead a current event. It’s something that affects all of us.”  And she’s right. Homosexuality is actually, in my totally biased and slanted opinion, one of the most current events. Well, that… and the war. And who knows if the war isn’t continuing just to keep our attention off of the sweeping changes going on all over the country with regards to being g-g-g-g-g-gay.

So anyway, the point really is, right now you can go and “vote” for the contestants on the Miss America website or Facebook page. I’m not exactly sure what you’re voting for… but I clicked to vote for Miss Buffie because of her platform AND because her last name is Buffie which is like Buffy, which is from Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Ah… our modern ways of determining the best candidates for things. Watch out if there’s ever a Presidential candidate named “Bones” or “Lawandorder.”

Here’s some stuff about what I’m talking about:

Video:


My Original Source: The Advocate

PS. Found out, you’re voting for America’s Choice, which four contestants will get voted as. Or something.

One thought on “How to get me to watch Miss America Pageant

  1. I’m on board with you. Good people are good people. These things shouldn’t have to be considered “rights” they are just plainly what should be taken for granted.

    Hope things are going well with you and the family. I have been so very busy and I feel guilty for having been thru Albany several times in the past few months without having a chat over some coffee.

    My only excuse is that my clients seemed to always be in a hurry.

    Warmest Regards,

    StanTheMan

Leave a Reply

