Double-Vision

So, recently I discovered that I have double-vision. I don’t remember the name for it right now because that’s really not what this article is about. But, for the record, my entire life I have always seen double about a foot to 18 inches from me. Further than 18 inches and my eyes can adjust just fine and my sense of depth perception is restored and normal. It seems like my brain works a little backwards. If I stare at a stereoscopic image, (magic poster) I have a hard time adjusting to it to see the 3-D-ness of it. When I was younger, I was stubborn, and would stare at those damn posters for HOURS just to make the magic happen. But I recently discovered that if I help my eyes to stay seperate, then my brain will quickly bring the 3-D image into place and I can easily see the beautiful Magic portrait.

//

Well, I read an article on nbcnews today that talked about a recently discovered painting that is a ‘twin’ painting to the Mona Lisa. The article postulates that it is possible that this painting was also done by DaVinci as an effort to create a stereoscopic image. The two images are different in color and almost different in expression, which is one of the things that makes this Mona Lisa painting so exuisite to being with.

So, I went to work to see if I could verify this was true. How do you verify that two pictures are, indeed, stereoscopic if they are sitting there on the screen and not overlapping, without the cool polarized or red/blue glasses, you may ask?

With my super-powers, its easy. I needed to find an object to cover my nose area so that the left eye could not see what the right eye could see and the right eye could not see what the left eye could see. Interestingly, my iPhone was the perfect sort of tool for this. Once I am able to fully block out each side, my brain knows to pull the image together and I can now see a single image; when up close, anyway. Like so:
Photo on 5-2-14 at 6.21 PM

So, I did just that with the Mona Lisa Comparison Photos:

CARBON & HESSLINGER. DA VINCI’S MONA LISA ENTERING THE NEXT DIMENSION. PERCEPTION, 42(8)

CARBON & HESSLINGER. DA VINCI’S MONA LISA ENTERING THE NEXT DIMENSION. PERCEPTION, 42(8)

And to my surprise, I have to say that this is hands-down the most beautiful painting that I have ever laid eyes on. It is, indeed, a stereoscopic image. Right down to the clouds being puffy and the mountain being jagged and the hands being curved and the smile being deep and playful.

You should try it and tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

