Imagination

I’ve been on this epic journey to get through all of Star Trek. So far, this commitment has consumed about 1 and a half years of my free time and there’s plenty left to go. I have to say that I’ve learned a lot throughout my experiences. I was recently faced with an agonizing reality in my life situation and have been seeking ways to figure out how to overcome my obstacles. So today, I’ve been watching the Voyager episode “Scorpion” and heard a quote that really felt right for me:

When one’s imagination cannot provide an answer, one must seek out a greater imagination.

This was said by the holographic Leonardo DaVinci that Captain Janeway consults when she is faced with an mortal enemy greater than the most evil enemy the Federation has ever come in contact with.

In thinking on this quote and applying it to my own life situations, I realized that it is filled with hope. I believe that the whole is greater than the sum of its parts and sometimes, when we get stuck down in the little details of life, it’s important to be able to rise above that and look at life with a more global perspective and find resolutions or come to find a sense of peace throughout the circumstances.

Many people seek a greater imagination through religion. This works for many. In fact, the second half of that quote is an request that Janeway go to church with DaVinci. Since I am not particularly a religious person, I must seek out an imagination greater than my own that works with my own beliefs. So I have. One thing I’ve learned in the last two years of struggling through my own personal journeys of miscarriage and separation from my wife and the inevitable divorce to follow is that even when I feel all alone in the world, all I have to do is reach out and ask the right people for help. And the right people aren’t necessarily the people who are going to give me all the right answers I want to hear. Sometimes, they are the people who are going to show belief in me and my vision regardless of how they feel, and they will be honest about how they feel but support me anyway. And some are going to be the people that are supportive because they believe in me and they believe that I have something to add to the world.

Just the other day, I found myself wishing that there was a community I could find that wasn’t religious based. I did a search for ‘secular community’ and all I could find was anti-religious based groups. I hoped for a community that was people-oriented and nearby, so that I could be part of that community in person. I believe that I’ll eventually find that local community but in the mean time I realize that I do have such a community in my life, even if they are scattered across the continent. Thank you, friends, for being that greater imagination and guiding me through difficult times. I love you all.

Leave a Reply

